Developing Better Services

The New Hospital Network

  • The current configuration of 15 acute hospitals will be replaced by a network of nine acute hospitals supported by seven local hospitals, with additional local hospitals in other locations, as appropriate.
  • Under DBS the nine acute hospitals will be the Royal Hospitals, Belfast City, Ulster, Antrim, Causeway, Altnagelvin, Daisy Hill, Craigavon and the new South West Hospital.
  • Whiteabbey, Mid Ulster, Lagan Valley, Downe, South Tyrone, and Omagh have been designated as local hospitals with the eventual inclusion of the Mater (although the Mater is to continue to deliver a full range of acute services for a considerable period ahead).
  • Particular regional specialities within the Eastern Board area (dermatology, plastics and rheumatology) are being relocated and consolidated.
  • Fracture inpatient services are to be developed at Antrim and Craigavon, with fracture clinics at all acute hospitals.
  • Consultant-led maternity services are to be delivered at the network of nine acute hospitals, with the potential for development of midwife-led maternity units adjacent to consultant units.
  • Protected elective capacity is to be developed at Lagan Valley, South Tyrone, the new South West hospital and elsewhere, as appropriate.
  • Increasing availability and access to day surgery will be a priority.
Further details of the Developing Better Services programme are set out in the Ministerial announcement of February 2003 (PDF 18KB).

Additional information on DBS

Associated reports


Contact us

Write to us

Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety
Information Office
Castle Buildings

Social Media

  • Keep in touch:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • Blog
  • RSS Feed

Telephone us

The main switchboard telephone number is 028 90520500.
Please see our contact us page for a full list of telephone numbers and email addresses.

Email us

You can email us at the following address:


You can contact us by completing our feedback form.
Investors in People - Bronze

Open Government Licence

All content is available under the Open Government Licence v3.0Link to an external website, except where otherwise stated.